OnBroadway.com Has Tickets to Broadway Revival of Cats, Now in Previews

Cats on Broadway
By Effie (Own work) [GFDL or CC BY-SA 4.0-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0], via Wikimedia Commons
Previews of the revival of Cats began at the Neil Simon Theatre on Broadway on July 14 ahead of an official opening on July 31. The musical is being presented by The Shubert Organization and The Nederlander Organization.

Two-time Tony Award winner Andy Blankenbuehler re-imagined the choreography for the Broadway classic. He kept some of Gillian Lynne’s original choreography and infused it with his own ideas to convey more of the characters’ personalities and stories. He incorporated several styles of dance, including contemporary, funk, and jazz.

Blankenbuehler said in an interview with Playbill that he took a character-driven approach to the choreography. He uses the dancing in the show to hint at ideas and themes that might not have been obvious to audience members in performances of the original version.

Leona Lewis
USAderivative work: Lucas Secret [CC BY 2.0], via Wikimedia Commons
British pop singer Leona Lewis plays Grizabella the Glamour Cat and performs the hit song “Memory.” She has sold over 20 million albums around the world and has been nominated for numerous awards, including three Grammys.

Cats was composed by Andrew Lloyd Webber and is based on Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot. It opened in 1982 at the Winter Garden Theater on Broadway and was performed 7,485 times over 18 years.

The original production of Cats had a tendency to polarize audiences, who either loved it or did not understand its nuances. Blankenbuehler and members of the cast have said in interviews that they are optimistic that the changes will allow the new version of Cats to appeal to a wider audience.

OnBroadway.com has tickets to performances of Cats at the Neil Simon Theatre. Order your tickets now to see the revival of this classic play with a new cast and revamped choreography.

Upcoming Performances of Cats at the Neil Simon Theatre

Click here to view tickets for all performances.

Wed July 20 @ 8:00 PM

Thu July 21 @ 8:00 PM

Fri July 22 @ 8:00 PM

Sat July 23 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Mon July 25 @ 8:00 PM

Tue July 26 @ 8:00 PM

Wed July 27 @ 8:00 PM

Thu July 28 @ 8:00 PM

Fri July 29 @ 8:00 PM

Sat July 30 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Mon August 1 @ 8:00 PM

Tue August 2 @ 7:00 PM

Thu August 4 @ 7:00 PM

Fri August 5 @ 8:00 PM

Sat August 6 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Sun August 7 @ 1:30 PM and 7:00 PM

Mon August 8 @ 7:00 PM

Tue August 9 @ 7:00 PM

Wed August 10 @ 2:00 PM and 7:30 PM

Thu August 11 @ 7:00 PM

One thought on “OnBroadway.com Has Tickets to Broadway Revival of Cats, Now in Previews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s