Motown: The Musical Returning to Broadway for Limited Run; Order Tickets from OnBroadway.com

401px-jesse_nager
Jesse Nager, via Wikipedia, CC SA-BY 3.0

Motown: The Musical, which celebrates the musical careers of many artists of the 1960s and 1970s, will return to Broadway starting on July 12 at the Nederlander Theatre. The play includes famous songs by artists such as Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, Diana Ross and the Supremes, Michael Jackson and The Jackson Five, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, and The Temptations, whose music was released by Motown Records.

Motown: The Musical debuted on Broadway on March 11, 2013 and officially opened on April 11. The play was nominated for four awards at the 67th Tony Awards. The original Broadway run ended on January 18, 2015. It later opened in London.

The book was written by Berry Gordy, the founder of Motown Records. It is based on Gordy’s autobiography To Be Loved: The Music, the Magic, the Memories of Motown and traces his professional and personal relationships with many of the Motown artists he discovered and made famous. Gordy co-produced the play with Tony winner Kevin McCollum and Doug Morris, the CEO of Sony Music. It is directed by Charles Randolph-Wright.

The new production will include changes to the book and structure that were also included in the production on the national tour and in London. It will not include a formal opening night. A limited 18-week run will be built into the national tour.

Members of the company performing on the national tour will also perform on Broadway. Chester Gregory will star as Berry Gordy, Allison Semmes will play Diana Ross, Jesse Nager will play Smokey Robinson, and Jarran Muse will take on the role of Marvin Gaye.

OnBroadway.com has tickets to upcoming performances of Motown: The Musical. Order your tickets now to see this limited-run production including many classic songs by famous Motown artists.

Performance Schedule for Motown: The Musical at the Nederlander Theatre

Click the links below for tickets:

Tue July 12 @ 8:00 PM

Wed July 13 @ 8:00 PM

Thu July 14 @ 7:00 PM

Fri July 15 @ 8:00 PM

Sat July 16 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Sun July 17 @ 2:00 PM and 7:30 PM

Tue July 19 @ 7:00 PM

Wed July 20 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Thu July 21 @ 7:00 PM

Fri July 22 @ 8:00 PM

Sat July 23 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Sun July 24 @ 3:00 PM

Tue July 26 @ 7:00 PM

Wed July 27 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Thu July 28 @ 7:00 PM

Fri July 29 @ 8:00 PM

Sat July 30 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Sun July 31 @ 3:00 PM

Tue August 2 @ 7:00 PM

Wed August 3 @ 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s